Family Sucks…

Posted: October 21, 2010 in Emotions, Family

I got a letter from my mom yesterday…

I haven’t quite processed all my emotions about it just yet.  I didn’t respond to her email over a year ago, and now I feel obligated  to speak my peace.  I’m just not sure what I want to say just yet…

It’s funny how time can change things – over  a year ago when I opened her email while I was on vacation (yeah, I know – spare me the lecture of checking email while on vacation!)  The emotions that went raging through me are nearly impossible to describe – but needless to say it impacted me so much that we chose to come home from vacation a day earlier than planned. *sigh*

So, now I read this letter on my way to work on Wednesday morning…  10/20/10.  I’m wearing purple in support of the lives lost to anti LGBT bullying – Spirit Day.  And at that moment, even though I felt all sorts of emotions – I simply didn’t care.  I didn’t care what she said, what excuses she had or anything else.  I just didn’t/don’t care.   Why should I?   I’ve come to terms with the fact that many don’t accept me for who I am, family included.  That’s their problem, not mine.  So, why stress?

Master read the letter last night and he said something that I hadn’t even caught… she talked about how I would become more accepting of people and open to who they are as I got older.  SERIOUSLY? Did she really say that to me? Does she not remember that she was the one giving me the third degree about the lifestyle choices I make?  REALLY? I need to be more accepting – hmmm, funny I don’t think ANYONE that actually knows me would EVER say something even remotely similar to that.  How can someone who raised me to be accepting of others live the opposite of what she taught?

Anyway, I know many of you read my blog for my more erotic posts but since this directly relates to me and my lifestyle choices – I thought it might be okay to rant…  hope you don’t mind.

Comments
  1. shawmor says:

    At the risk of sounding overly simplistic, I believe some things we encounter in life, especially with our parents, are generational and will never be overcome. Somethings we will never understand about each other. But acceptance of our loved ones should be manifest.

Leave a Reply

