The Meaning of a Name

Posted: May 12, 2010 in Meanings

Cadence:

a melodic configuration or series of chords marking the end of a phrase, section, or piece of music

a drumline piece played in a parading marching band between or in place of full-band pieces

Rayne:

abundant blessings from above

These names, by themselves, might not mean much to the average person.
But to me, and those I play with it can be the difference in my ability to hit subspace or not.

I’m a drummer, well a percussionist would be the more correct term.  I have been since I was 13 years old.  The rythmn of a song, or even a thunderstorm can leave a permanent mark on my soul.  I find structure among chaos, simply by finding the rythmn.

I quickly realized how much this would impact my play “style.” I can remember the very first time I met Him, for these purposes we will call Him “T”.  I was spellbound by watching and listening to his Florentine flogging – it was simply a demonstration, but I needed nothing more to realize how much I wanted to play with Him.  I think I fell in love with the rythmn before I even had a chance to truly know Him.  But that didn’t matter to me at that point.  I remember parting ways from that monthly meeting a changed person.

Leave a Reply

