Hello, fellow kinky folks!

Posted: May 12, 2010 in Family

So, for a brief while, I deleted my blog (and since moved it here to wordpress). I should explain why!

Nearly 9 months ago, I got an email from my mom, while on vacation. A quick summary might sound something like this… I saw your twitter account (and thus googled your alias and found your blog)…great alias…what if someone finds this…is this why you aren’t succeeding in life (finishing my graduate studies and professional exams)… Yeah, that’s the general idea of the email – it made me shut down.

So, my response, while never actually telling her is this… Thanks – my alias suits me great! Those that know some of the biggest influences on my life will know how much my musical background plays into how I “play” in this lifestyle – especially as a bottom! So, thanks for the compliment – I don’t seem to EVER get those from you these days – even though it is a backhanded one!

If someone finds this, I don’t know what will come of it. What I do know is that this is me, I live it and breathe it. If my current employer or future employers find it and punish me for it, I know several things – I’m honest about my life, I don’t impose it on anyone I work with, it doesn’t effect my work, and those that I hold so near and dear to my heart in the local community would step to bat for me, help me network, and the like. If my blog ‘outs’ me – I think I’ll be okay with that. As a matter of fact, someone was recently fired for their blog surrounding their polyamourous lifestyle and she’s getting more press than she knows what to do with. And, maybe that’s not a bad thing! Hell, she’s got job offers from lifestyle friendly employers as a result – sounds like it might not be so bad after all!

And finally, ‘this’ lifestyle has absolutely nothing to do with how I move along your (her) pre-determined time line. ‘This’ lifestyle has everything to do with having an accepting ‘chosen’ family, giving me an outlet for my stress, allowing me to express myself in ways I never thought possible and making me feel more accepted as a person than ever before. The support I feel is incomparable. Some of them know about my professional trials and tribulations and are there to offer more solace and support than I have EVER felt from anyone else – especially you!

So, I’m back…take it or leave it.

Comments
  1. mollyskiss says:

    I had not read this post before today, Cadence. I admire you for what you wrote here and I think you are spot on. I hope that one day my family can accept me for the person I am and the life I chose to lead, but if they don’t, then it is there loss.

    Mollyxxx

Leave a Reply

